It is unfortunately very easy to be arrested in Miami Dade County based on misdemeanor allegations of domestic violence. All it takes for the police to take you away is for your significant other (or even ex-significant other) to say that you have hit them, pushed them, or threatened to do harm to them.
What is different about DV?
Unlike typical charges where a person who is arrested can simply bond out to a standard bond without having to wait in jail to see the judge, Florida law (Florida Statute 741.2901(3)) requires that a person arrested for a domestic violence charge be held in custody until brought before the court for a bail determination. This means that you will spend up to two days in jail waiting to be brought before the judge to get a bond. For misdemeanor domestic violence charges, the bond hearings take place at the Lawson E. Thomas Courthouse Center located at 175 NW 1st Ave, Miami Florida 33128.
You get before a Judge, then what?
Once you appear before the judge for bail determination the prosecutor will routinely argue that you should be held on a monetary bond and will object to any other form of pre-trial release. Your lawyer can ask the judge to release you on a kind of release called “pre-trial services.” If you’ve previously been accused of domestic violence, the judge will likely require you to post a money bond. Money bonds can range from $1,500, which is the standard for a misdemeanor domestic violence battery, to anything in the $50,000+ range with house arrest. The amount will depend on who the judge is, whether you’ve been previously accused of domestic violence, and what the allegations for which you were arrested are.
The Stay Away Order
During this hearing the judge will also issue a domestic violence stay away order. The stay away order prohibits the person arrested from having any kind of contact with the alleged victim in the case. The order also prohibits the person arrested from coming within 500 feet of the alleged victim’s home, workplace, and car. A violation of this “stay away order” is a misdemeanor of the first degree in Florida and can get you up to 364 days in the county jail per charge. (Regardless of whether the underlying allegations are true). The stay away order can also be used by the prosecution to make a misdemeanor stalking case into a felony case.
If the person who is accusing you of domestic violence is in court and wants to have contact with you he or she can ask the judge to have that order lifted. These orders are usually never lifted during this hearing but most judges will reconsider lifting them a couple of weeks after the incident once the incident is not so recent.
Note: This is a very easy way for someone who lives in your house to evict you. It doesn’t matter if the person is paying rent, owns the house, etc, if the person goes to the cops and says you committed domestic violence against them they will get to stay in your home while you have to stay 500 feet or more away. No questions asked. You can start eviction proceedings of your own once you get out of jail but that process, unlike falsely accusing somebody of committing DV, takes time.
Once this first appearance hearing is done you will get a new court date for arraignment. At this hearing the prosecutor will announce whether the State is bringing formal charges against you. If the prosecution files charges against you, your lawyer will receive discovery, and ask for a trial date. Trial dates are usually set thirty to forty five days from arraignment. Between arraignment and trial your lawyer should conduct discovery, investigate the case, and prepare the case for trial.
If you are currently facing a troubling domestic violence charge and would like some guidance navigating the system feel free to contact us. We are available to assist you with getting through this unfortunate situation.
If you found this content useful and would like to receive our content via email go ahead and subscribe below.